Coming from Spectora?Coming from Spectora? See Hive vs Spectora→Join Hive Users on Facebook· 960+ members
Hive
  • Features
  • Who We Serve
    • New inspectors

      $39 for your first month, every feature included

    • Solo inspectors

      Write the report and book jobs from your phone

    • Part-time inspectors

      10 reports for $99, no monthly plan

    • Multi-inspector firms

      Permissions, pay splits and one team calendar

    Which one sounds like you? →
  • Pricing
  • Sample Reports
  • Websites
  • Resources

    Compare

    • Hive vs Spectora
    • Hive vs HomeGauge
    • All comparisons

    Switch

    • Switch to Hive
    • Migrating from Horizon

    Learn

    • Buying guide
    • How Hive’s AI works
    • Free checklists
    • FAQ
    • Help center
    • Privacy pledge
Log in
Get 5 free reports
Hive

Menu

  • Features
    • Which one sounds like you?
    • New inspectors
    • Solo inspectors
    • Part-time inspectors
    • Multi-inspector firms
  • Pricing
  • Sample Reports
  • Websites
    • Hive vs Spectora
    • Hive vs HomeGauge
    • All comparisons
    • Switch to Hive
    • Migrating from Horizon
    • Buying guide
    • How Hive’s AI works
    • Free checklists
    • FAQ
    • Help center
    • Privacy pledge
Get 5 free reportsLog in

Best Home Inspection Software in 2026: 11 Tools Compared

Prices, iPad and Android apps, offline use, AI report writing, booking and payments, and who each tool suits. Every price comes from the company’s own website.Updated 5 October 2026 · Prices and features checked on each company’s own website on 5 October 2026We make Hive Inspect, one of the 11 tools on this page. We list its limits too, and say how we compared.

Get 5 free reportsSee the comparison table

Short answer: which home inspection software is best?

The right tool depends on how many inspections you do, which devices you use and how much AI you want in your report writing.

  • Hive Inspect is our pick for best overall. Every AI tool is on every plan with no usage cap. Booking, agreements and payments are included, and it costs $99/month however many inspections you do.
  • Spectora is the most widely used. It says over 12,000 inspectors use it. It costs $109/month, plus $4 per inspection for its Advanced tier.
  • EZ Home Inspection ($40/month), Palmtech ($50/month) and Inspector Toolbelt ($79/month) cost less.
  • TapInspect suits inspectors who use only an iPad or iPhone, or who want to pay per job.
  • ISN suits large multi-inspector firms that run on scheduling and dispatch.
  • Home Inspector Pro, ScribeWare and HomeGauge suit inspectors who finish reports in a desktop program.

Quick picks

The best choice for each kind of inspector and each question inspectors ask most often.

  • Best overall

    Hive Inspect

    Every AI tool is on every plan with no usage cap. Smart Add matches what you found to your own comments first, and Context Layer tells the buyer how common each defect is and how involved the repair usually is. One price, $99/month, covers any volume, with booking, agreements, payments and automations included. At 40 inspections a month you pay $99, against $269 for Spectora with Advanced, $235 for Binsr Pro and $290 for ISN.

  • Most used

    Spectora

    “Trusted by over 12,000 inspectors around the world”, by its own count. It has phone, tablet and web apps that work offline, and a public API and AI connector you can use today.

  • Best for solo inspectors

    Hive Inspect

    It’s $99/month at any volume, with every AI tool, booking, agreements and payments in one account. Also good: Spectora for its integrations, and Inspector Toolbelt for a lower monthly price.

  • Best for new inspectors

    Hive Inspect

    The new-inspector plan is $39 for the first month, then $59, then $79, and $99 from month four, with every AI tool included. If the lowest long-term price matters most, Inspector Toolbelt is $79/month. EZ Home Inspection gives home inspection students half price for 6 months.

  • Best for multi-inspector companies

    Hive Inspect

    Every seat gets every AI tool at $69 per extra inspector, and office staff logins don’t need a paid seat. Also good: ISN for large firms that run on dispatch and agent marketing, and Spectora for its integrations.

  • Best for part-time inspectors

    Hive Inspect

    The 10-report pack is $99 ($9.90 a report), with every AI tool, for single-inspector businesses. Another option is TapInspect at $7.50 a job, sold in blocks of 20 for $150.

  • Best for a small inspection business

    Hive Inspect

    One flat price covers booking, agreements, payments and every AI tool. Spectora is the alternative if you need its integrations and public API today.

  • Best for AI report writing

    Hive Inspect

    Its AI matches what you found to your own template comments first, drafts only when nothing fits, and is on every plan with no usage cap.

  • Best for Android

    Hive Inspect or Spectora

    Both have native apps for Android phones and tablets. TapInspect lists iPhone and iPad only.

  • Best mobile app with web-based reports

    Hive Inspect or Spectora

    Both deliver an interactive online report plus a PDF.

  • Best with scheduling and payments built in

    Hive Inspect, Spectora or ISN

    All three handle online booking, e-signed agreements and card and ACH payments.

  • If you want AI that reads photos

    ISN, Palmtech or Binsr Pro

    ISN’s AI Image Defect Detector flags possible defects in your photos and suggests comment categories. Palmtech’s drafts comments for you to review. Binsr’s photo AI suggests matching comments, on its Pro plan. Hive does not read photos.

  • If you mostly dictate by voice

    Binsr Pro

    AI Voice Quick Add takes spoken findings and pulls matching comments from your template or creates new ones. It costs $4 per completed inspection on top of $75/month.

  • If you only use an iPad or iPhone

    TapInspect

    It has 4.8 stars from 4,927 App Store ratings, the most of any app here.

  • If the lowest monthly price matters most

    EZ Home Inspection or Palmtech

    EZ Home Inspection is $40/month for desktop and mobile, with unlimited reports. Its site lists no AI, online booking or e-signed agreements. Palmtech is $50 a user per month, with scheduling, agreements, payments and photo AI.

  • If you finish reports in a desktop program

    Home Inspector Pro or ScribeWare

    Both have installed programs for Windows and Mac. HomeGauge’s desktop program runs on Windows; Mac users need Parallels or a similar program.

  • If you want InterNACHI’s pick

    Spectora

    InterNACHI has no official software, but its own help article recommends Spectora, and members get a Spectora discount. The InterNACHI question in the FAQ below has more.

  • If you use Horizon

    Move before 15 December 2026

    Horizon shuts down on 15 December 2026. Carson Dunlop recommends Spectora, and every tool on this page is an option. See “If you use Horizon” below.

Comparison table

Prices are for one inspector, before card processing fees. Every tool except EZ Home Inspection lists e-signed agreements. Checked 5 October 2026 on each vendor’s own pricing page; the sources are under each product below.

Price and devices

Price and device support of 11 home inspection software tools, checked 5 October 2026
SoftwarePrice, 1 inspectorEach extra inspectoriPhone / iPadAndroidComputerWorks offline
Hive InspectPrice, 1 inspector: $99/mo or $999/yr. New-inspector plan from $39. 10 reports for $99Each extra inspector: $69/mo or $599/yr. Office staff logins don’t take a seatiPhone / iPad: Yes / YesAndroid: YesComputer: Web browserWorks offline: Yes
SpectoraPrice, 1 inspector: $109/mo or $1,090/yr. Advanced +$4 per inspectionEach extra inspector: $99/mo or $999/yriPhone / iPad: Yes / YesAndroid: YesComputer: Web browserWorks offline: Yes
HomeGaugePrice, 1 inspector: $89/mo after a 30-day trialEach extra inspector: Not publishediPhone / iPad: Companion appAndroid: Companion appComputer: Windows desktop programWorks offline: Not stated
ISN (Inspection Support Network)Price, 1 inspector: $7.25 per inspection (first 50 a month), $5.50 (51–100), $3.75 (101–150). Monthly minimum may applyEach extra inspector: Per inspectioniPhone / iPad: Yes / YesAndroid: YesComputer: Web browserWorks offline: Not stated
Home Inspector ProPrice, 1 inspector: $89/mo. Annual discounts on requestEach extra inspector: Not publishediPhone / iPad: Yes / YesAndroid: YesComputer: Windows and Mac programsWorks offline: Not stated
TapInspectPrice, 1 inspector: $90/mo unlimited, or $7.50 a jobEach extra inspector: $45/moiPhone / iPad: Yes / YesAndroid: NoComputer: Web (office work only)Works offline: Yes
Inspector ToolbeltPrice, 1 inspector: $79/mo. 5 free reportsEach extra inspector: $35/moiPhone / iPad: Yes / YesAndroid: YesComputer: Web browserWorks offline: Yes
PalmtechPrice, 1 inspector: $50/mo or $500/yr per userEach extra inspector: $50/mo per useriPhone / iPad: Yes / YesAndroid: YesComputer: Web browserWorks offline: Yes, in the mobile app
ScribeWarePrice, 1 inspector: $99/mo, or $89/mo paid yearly ($1,068). $12 a reportEach extra inspector: $69/moiPhone / iPad: Yes / YesAndroid: YesComputer: Windows and Mac programsWorks offline: Yes
BinsrPrice, 1 inspector: Standard $75/mo (no AI). Pro $75/mo + $4 per completed inspectionEach extra inspector: $75/mo. Office and admin seats freeiPhone / iPad: Yes / YesAndroid: YesComputer: Web browserWorks offline: Not stated
EZ Home InspectionPrice, 1 inspector: $40/mo or $399/yr (desktop + mobile). Desktop only $30/moEach extra inspector: Not publishediPhone / iPad: Yes / YesAndroid: YesComputer: Web app (Windows or Mac)Works offline: Yes, in the mobile app

Works offline means you can take photos and write the report with no signal, and it syncs later. AI tools in every product need an internet connection.

AI, business tools and fit

AI report writing, booking and payments, and best fit of 11 home inspection software tools, checked 5 October 2026
SoftwareAI report writingBooking and paymentsWho it suits
Hive InspectAI report writing: Smart Add, AI Comment Assist, AI Comment Merge, Edit Templates with AI, Context Layer. Every plan, no cap. No photo AIBooking and payments: Built in: card, ACH, Affirm, Pay at Close. Report locks until paid and signedWho it suits: Best overall. Solo inspectors and teams who want AI from their own comments at one price
SpectoraAI report writing: AI Comment Assist (all plans). AI Message Assist (Advanced). AI Match in early accessBooking and payments: Built inWho it suits: The most widely used. Public API and AI connector today
HomeGaugeAI report writing: None foundBooking and payments: Built inWho it suits: Windows users who finish reports at a desk
ISN (Inspection Support Network)AI report writing: AI Comment Helper, AI Image Defect Detector (photo AI)Booking and payments: Built in, its core strength. Card, ACH, FlexFund (pay at closing)Who it suits: Large multi-inspector firms, dispatch and agent marketing
Home Inspector ProAI report writing: AI report translation (6 languages)Booking and payments: Built inWho it suits: Desktop report writing, international work
TapInspectAI report writing: NoneBooking and payments: Built in (Autopilot). Payments US onlyWho it suits: iPad and iPhone inspectors, pay per job
Inspector ToolbeltAI report writing: AI Assistant (beta), from typed keywordsBooking and payments: Built inWho it suits: Budget solo inspectors and small teams
PalmtechAI report writing: AI Comment Helper, AI Image Defect Detector (photo AI)Booking and payments: Built inWho it suits: Lowest price for a full platform
ScribeWareAI report writing: AI setup interview and an MCP server for Claude or another AI tool you pay forBooking and payments: Built in since version 7.1Who it suits: Custom narrative reports, commercial work
BinsrAI report writing: Pro only: AI Voice & Photo Quick Add, AI image annotations, combine comments with AIBooking and payments: Built in, StripeWho it suits: Teams that want AI voice and photo tools on one plan
EZ Home InspectionAI report writing: NoneBooking and payments: Invoicing and payments. No online booking or e-signed agreements listedWho it suits: A simple, low-cost report writer without AI

What one inspector pays a month

Subscription only, no card fees or add-ons. If a vendor sells per-report credits, the cheaper option is shown.

Monthly cost for one inspector at 10 and 40 inspections a month, 13 plans
Software10 inspections a month40 inspections a month
EZ Home Inspection (desktop + mobile)$40$40
Palmtech$50$50
ISN$72.50, or the monthly minimum if higher$290
TapInspect$75 (pay as you go)$90 (Unlimited)
Binsr Standard (no AI)$75$75
Inspector Toolbelt$79$79
HomeGauge$89$89
Home Inspector Pro$89$89
Hive Inspect$99 (or the 10-report pack, $99)$99
ScribeWare$99$99
Spectora$109$109
Binsr Pro (with AI)$115$235
Spectora with Advanced$149$269

At low volume, EZ Home Inspection, Palmtech and ISN cost the least. Tools that charge per inspection (ISN, Binsr Pro, Spectora Advanced) cost more as you get busier. Flat-price tools cost the same at 10 inspections or 40.

Prices from each vendor’s own pricing page, checked 5 October 2026. Out of date? Email support@hiveinspect.com and we'll correct it.

App Store ratings

Read from Apple’s App Store on 5 October 2026. Ratings with few reviews move quickly.

App Store ratings of 11 home inspection apps, read 5 October 2026
AppStarsRatings
TapInspect4.84,927
Spectora4.82,076
ISN4.4128
Home Inspector Pro Mobile4.375
HomeGauge Companion2.939
ScribeWare4.735
Hive Inspect4.932
EZ Home Inspection4.323
Palmtech Complete3.122
Inspector Toolbelt4.818
Binsr Inspect3.515

Hive Inspect also has 5.0 stars from 18 reviews on Google Play.

The 11 tools in detail

Who each tool suits, what it does well, its limits, and what it costs, with the page we checked.

  • Hive Inspect
  • Spectora
  • HomeGauge
  • ISN (Inspection Support Network)
  • Home Inspector Pro
  • TapInspect
  • Inspector Toolbelt
  • Palmtech
  • ScribeWare
  • Binsr
  • EZ Home Inspection

Hive Inspect

Who it’s for: Solo inspectors and teams of a few inspectors who want AI help writing reports in their own words, plus booking, agreements and payments in the same account, at one price.

Strengths

  • Smart Add. In the mobile app, you type or say what you found in a sentence. Hive shows up to three matching comments from your report, each with a match score. If nothing fits, AI Comment Assist drafts a new comment and files it in the right section. You approve every comment, and you can save new ones to your template. Inspectors report that Smart Add saves them 25–30 minutes per inspection.
  • Every AI tool on every plan, with no usage cap. That covers Smart Add, AI Comment Assist, AI Comment Merge (combines up to three related defect comments into one) and Edit Templates with AI.
  • Context Layer. Each defect gets a labeled box for the buyer: how common the defect is nationally and in your state, and how easy it usually is to repair. It is on every plan, including the 10-report pack, and you can turn it off for any template or report.
  • Running the business, on the base plan. Online booking that only offers open slots, a different agreement for each service, card, ACH, Affirm and Pay at Close payments, and a report that stays locked until the client pays and signs. Also included: automations, an agent portal and repair requests for agents.
  • Reports and forms. Reports in English and Spanish, and PDFs in French. Templates for Texas TREC, NPMA-33 WDI and Florida insurance forms.
  • Switching in. Support moves your templates, agreements, contacts and services for you, for free, and you can import past inspections.
  • Support. Customer support 7 days a week by chat, screen share, video call or email, and a person on the Hive team answers every chat. You also get a one-on-one onboarding call.
  • Your clients’ data. There are no vendor offers in your client portal, and Hive doesn’t sell client data.

Limits worth knowing

  • Smaller and newer than Spectora. Hive has 2,500+ inspectors against Spectora’s 12,000+. It also has fewer ratings: App Store 4.9 from 32, Google Play 5.0 from 18.
  • No AI that reads photos. If you want photo-to-comment drafting, look at ISN, Palmtech or Binsr Pro.
  • No installed desktop program. Desk work happens in a web browser. If you want an installed program, choose Home Inspector Pro, ScribeWare or HomeGauge.
  • Calendar sync is Google only. Outlook and Apple calendars don’t sync.
  • Extra seats cost more than at some rivals. An extra inspector is $69/month, against $35 at Inspector Toolbelt, $45 at TapInspect and $50 at Palmtech.
  • No public API yet, and no phone support. A public API and a ChatGPT or Claude connector are coming soon. Spectora’s are live now.

Price: $99/month or $999/year per inspector, however many inspections you do. Extra inspectors are $69/month or $599/year. The new-inspector plan costs $39, $59, then $79 for the first three months, and $99 after that. A 10-report pack is $99. The new-inspector plan and the 10-report pack are for single-inspector businesses. You start with 5 free reports before any plan, and no credit card is needed.

Source: hiveinspect.com/pricing, docs.hiveinspect.com, Hive Pay at Close, checked 5 Oct 2026.

See Hive pricing

Spectora

Who it’s for: Inspectors who want the most widely used platform, with agent familiarity, a long list of integrations and a public API.

Strengths

  • The largest user base. “Trusted by over 12,000 inspectors around the world” (Spectora’s own figure). App Store 4.8 from 2,076 ratings.
  • Apps. Web reports, plus iPhone, iPad and Android apps that work offline.
  • Running the business. Booking, e-signed agreements and payments are built in.
  • AI. AI Comment Assist is on the base plans. Spectora says it’s “used for 1 in every 3 new comments”.
  • API and AI connector. A public API and an AI connector (MCP) for Claude and ChatGPT are live.
  • InterNACHI and Horizon. InterNACHI members get “50% off for 6 months” or “25% off your first year”, and Spectora registers inspections for InterNACHI’s Buy-Back Guarantee. Carson Dunlop chose Spectora as its recommended platform for Horizon users.
  • Owns HomeGauge. HomeGauge says it is “part of the Spectora family”.

Limits worth knowing

  • Advanced costs extra per inspection. It is $4 per published inspection. It adds AI Message Assist, pay splits, business metrics and more automations.
  • AI Match isn’t open to everyone. This is Spectora’s tool that matches spoken findings to your own comments. It is in early access.
  • Extra inspectors are $99/month.
  • Support hours. Live support runs Monday to Saturday, with shorter hours on Friday and Saturday.
  • Small trial. The free trial is 2 inspections.

Price: $109/month or $1,090/year. Extra inspectors are $99/month or $999/year. Advanced is $4 per published inspection. The free trial is 2 inspections, with no time limit and no credit card needed.

Source: spectora.com/pricing, spectora.com/advanced, spectora.com/labs, spectora.com/internachi, Spectora’s support hours, checked 5 Oct 2026.

Hive Inspect vs Spectora

HomeGauge

Who it’s for: Inspectors on Windows who like finishing a detailed report at a desk, and long-time HomeGauge users.

Strengths

  • A desktop editor for inspectors who like to fine-tune each report at a desk.
  • Built-in tools. Online scheduling, agreements and payments.
  • Backed by Spectora. HomeGauge is “part of the Spectora family”.

Limits worth knowing

  • Windows only on the desktop. HomeGauge says Mac users need Parallels or a similar program.
  • A two-step workflow. You collect findings in the Companion app and finish the report on the desktop.
  • No AI. We found no AI features on its site.
  • Prices not published. There is no published annual price or extra-inspector price.
  • Low app rating. The Companion app has 2.9 stars from 39 App Store ratings.

Price: $89/month after a 30-day free trial.

Source: homegauge.com/one/pricing, HomeGauge Companion on the App Store, checked 5 Oct 2026.

Hive Inspect vs HomeGauge

ISN (Inspection Support Network)

Who it’s for: Multi-inspector and franchise firms that run on scheduling, dispatch and agent marketing.

Strengths

  • Scheduling and back office. These are ISN’s core strength: smart scheduling that suggests the right inspector, job tracking with mileage and payroll, reminders by text and email, and analytics.
  • A built-in report writer at no extra charge. You can also keep another report writer.
  • Two AI tools. AI Comment Helper suggests comments from your notes. AI Image Defect Detector flags possible defects in your photos and recommends comment categories.
  • Payments. Card and ACH payments, and FlexFund lets clients pay at closing.
  • Scale. ISN says it “powers over 2 million inspections a year”.
  • Support. Live phone, chat and email support seven days a week, with shorter hours at weekends.

Limits worth knowing

  • Per-inspection pricing rises with volume. Above 150 inspections a month you have to contact sales.
  • The monthly minimum isn’t published.
  • Add-on offers. Its Evergreen program offers your clients optional add-on services.

Price: $7.25 per inspection for the first 50 each month, $5.50 for inspections 51–100 and $3.75 for 101–150. Contact sales above 150. “Monthly minimum fees may apply following a 30-day free trial.”

Source: inspectionsupport.com/pricing, inspectionsupport.com/report-writer, inspectionsupport.com, checked 5 Oct 2026.

Hive Inspect vs ISN

Home Inspector Pro

Who it’s for: Inspectors who finish reports on a Windows or Mac computer and want deep template control, including work outside the US.

Strengths

  • Installed desktop programs for Windows and Mac, plus iPhone, iPad and Android apps.
  • International. It says it runs “in more than 20 countries and 10 languages”, with AI translation of reports into 6 languages.
  • Support. Free support by phone, email, help desk and live chat. It says it has support staff on both coasts.
  • Widely used. “Used and loved by more than 10,000 home inspectors” (its own figure).
  • Upgrades included. All future upgrades are included in the price.

Limits worth knowing

  • Prices on request. Annual and per-inspector prices aren’t published.
  • No AI comment writing is shown on its own pages.

Price: $89/month. Annual discounts are given on request. 30-day free trial.

Source: homeinspectorpro.com pricing, homeinspectorpro.com, checked 5 Oct 2026.

Hive Inspect vs Home Inspector Pro

TapInspect

Who it’s for: iPhone and iPad inspectors, especially part-timers who want to pay per job, and anyone who wants a simple app with no AI in the loop.

Strengths

  • The most App Store ratings of any app here: 4.8 stars from 4,927.
  • On-site workflow. Built for finishing the report on site.
  • Back office included. Autopilot covers agreements, payments and online booking.
  • Pay per job. $7.50 a job suits low or uneven volume.

Limits worth knowing

  • Report writing on iPhone and iPad only. Office work runs in a web browser. Its own site lists iPhone and iPad only, and we found no Android app.
  • No AI features of any kind.
  • Payments are US only. Tap Inspect Payments runs through ProPay.

Price: Unlimited is $90/month. Pay as you go is $7.50 a job, sold in blocks of 20 for $150. Teams pay $90/month plus $45 per extra inspector. The first 5 inspections are free.

Source: tapinspect.com/pricing, About Tap Inspect Payments, App Store listing, checked 5 Oct 2026.

Hive Inspect vs TapInspect

Inspector Toolbelt

Who it’s for: Budget-minded solo inspectors and small teams who want a low monthly price on phone, tablet and web.

Strengths

  • Price. $79/month, and the cheapest extra seat here at $35.
  • Free start. 5 free reports, with no credit card needed. Reports made during the trial have no watermark.
  • Platforms. Works offline on iPhone, iPad and Android. App Store 4.8 from 18 ratings.
  • Texas and Florida forms. The TREC REI 7-6 form generates along with the web report, and Florida wind mitigation and 4-point templates are in its template marketplace.
  • Your data. A published pledge: “We don’t sell, share, or monetize your data. Ever.”

Limits worth knowing

  • AI is a beta. Its AI Assistant, in beta since July 2023, turns a few typed keywords into “a basis for your own comment” and needs an internet connection. Inspector Toolbelt says there are no plans to charge for it “but this could change”.
  • No agent portal or pay splits on its published pages. Agents get report links and its Repair List Generator.
  • Price rise. The price went from $69 to $79 in February 2025.
  • No installed desktop program. Desk work happens in a web browser.

Price: $79/month. Each additional inspector is $35/month. 5 free reports, and no credit card is needed.

Source: inspectortoolbelt.com/pricing, inspectortoolbelt.com/price-increase-coming, inspectortoolbelt.com/ai-home-inspection-software, TREC software integration, We do not share client data, checked 5 Oct 2026. The AI beta date, and the agent portal and pay splits not being listed, are from its own pages, checked in August 2026.

Palmtech

Who it’s for: Price-conscious inspectors who want every feature, including photo AI, for a low published price.

Strengths

  • Low price for a full platform. $50 a user per month or $500 a year, and “All pricing models include 100% of Palmtech’s features.”
  • AI. AI Comment Helper suggests comments. AI Image Defect Detector “detects issues in photos and drafts detailed comments you can review and add”.
  • Built-in tools. An online scheduler, agreements with e-signatures, and payments.
  • No extra charges. Free tech support and free updates.

Limits worth knowing

  • Low app rating. Palmtech Complete has 3.1 stars from 22 App Store ratings.
  • Owned by Porch. Its app is published by Porch.com, Inc.

Price: $50 a user per month or $500 a user per year, with every feature. Free trial.

Source: palmtech.com/pricing, palmtech.com/software, checked 5 Oct 2026.

Hive Inspect vs Palmtech

ScribeWare

Who it’s for: Inspectors who want highly customized narrative reports, and commercial or multi-inspector firms happy to invest setup time.

Strengths

  • Desktop and mobile. Installed Windows and Mac programs that edit offline and sync later, plus iPhone, iPad and Android apps. App Store 4.7 from 35 ratings.
  • Deep report customization. Custom CSS and your own domain.
  • Teams. Real-time editing by several inspectors, and templates and libraries that sync across the team.
  • Back office. Since version 7.1: online booking, signed agreements and invoice payments, with reports locked until the client signs and pays.
  • AI tools in the desktop program. An AI setup interview, and an MCP server that lets Claude or another AI tool read and edit your reports.

Limits worth knowing

  • Onboarding help costs $100 an hour.
  • Bring your own AI. The AI tools work through an AI service you connect and pay for yourself.

Price: $99/month, or $89/month paid yearly ($1,068). $12 a report with no monthly fee. $69/month per additional inspector. The first 3 reports are free, with no credit card needed.

Source: scribeware.com home inspection pricing, ScribeWare desktop changes, checked 5 Oct 2026.

Hive Inspect vs ScribeWare

Binsr

Who it’s for: Inspection firms that want AI voice and photo tools, free admin seats and agent-facing tools, and are happy to pay per inspection for the AI.

Strengths

  • AI on Pro. AI Voice & Photo Quick Add: speak findings hands-free, or let photo AI suggest matching comments. Pro also has AI image annotations, combining comments with AI, and an API, webhooks and MCP.
  • Free admin seats. “You only pay per inspector.”
  • Built-in tools. Booking, agreements and Stripe payments are on Standard.
  • Discounts. $5 off per inspector a month for InterNACHI members and for veterans. Founding inspectors get 10% off for life.

Limits worth knowing

  • AI costs extra per inspection. It is $4 per completed inspection on Pro, so the bill grows with volume.
  • A young product. Binsr Inspect has 3.5 stars from 15 App Store ratings.

Price: Standard is $75 per inspector per month. Pro is $75 per inspector per month plus $4 per completed inspection. 5 free inspections, with no time limit and no credit card needed.

Source: binsrinspect.com/pricing, binsrinspect.com/report-builder-ai, checked 5 Oct 2026.

EZ Home Inspection

Who it’s for: Inspectors who want a simple, low-cost report writer with a big comment library, and don’t need AI, online booking or e-signed agreements.

Strengths

  • Low price. $40/month for the web app plus the phone and tablet app.
  • Comment library. “Over 2,000 pre-typed home inspection comments”, plus templates for residential, wind mitigation, 4-point, Florida roof certification and TREC.
  • Offline. Works offline in the phone and tablet app, and syncs between devices.
  • Payments. Invoicing and payment processing are included.
  • Student discount. Home inspection students get 50% off for 6 months.

Limits worth knowing

  • No AI features on its site.
  • No online booking or e-signed agreements listed on its site.
  • Reports go out as a file. You print or email the report, and you can deliver it on site.
  • Extra inspectors. No per-inspector price is published.

Price: Desktop + Mobile is $40/month or $399/year. Desktop only (web app on Windows or Mac) is $30/month or $299/year. 30-day free trial, no credit card needed.

Source: ezhomeinspectionsoftware.com/pricing, features, student discount, checked 5 Oct 2026.

If you use Horizon

Carson Dunlop is shutting down Horizon. In its words, “Horizon is Sunsetting on December 15, 2026.”

  • Carson Dunlop has chosen Spectora as its recommended platform.
  • It also says “There is no automatic migration.”
  • You can migrate to Spectora, move to a different platform, or keep using Horizon until that date.
  • Export tools are available until 15 December 2026.

Every tool on this page is an option. See our Horizon migration guide.

Source: carsondunlop.com/horizon, checked 5 Oct 2026.

Newer AI tools we’re watching

Several AI-first report writers launched in 2025–26. We’ll add one to the main list once real inspectors review it.

InspectorData

  • $79/month or $790/year (“Limited Introductory Price”), or $15 an inspection. Extra inspectors are $99/month. 30-day free trial.
  • Its AI sorts your photos as you take them and writes comments from them.
  • It includes an “8,000+” comment library, booking, agreements, Stripe payments, and an iPhone and Android app that works offline.
  • Its iPhone app launched in August 2026 and has 3 App Store ratings.
  • It says “400+ inspectors” use it. We couldn’t confirm that figure.

Source: inspectordata.com, photo-to-report, checked 5 Oct 2026.

SwiftReporter

  • $99/month, $89/month paid yearly, or $20 a report without the back office. Extra inspectors are $69/month. 30-day free trial, no card needed.
  • AI tools include voice-to-text notes, AI-drafted narratives, photo defect detection and an AI template builder.
  • Its iPhone app launched in November 2025 and has 2 App Store ratings.

Source: swiftreporter.com, SwiftReporter pricing, checked 5 Oct 2026.

AI report writing: what each tool does

“AI home inspection software” covers three different things. Pick the kind that matches how you work.

1. AI that matches your own comments

You describe a finding, and the AI finds the comment you already wrote for it. It drafts a new one only when nothing fits.

  • Hive Inspect: Smart Add, on every plan
  • Spectora: AI Match, in early access
  • Binsr: AI Voice & Photo Quick Add, on Pro at $4 per inspection

This keeps reports in your words and your liability language.

2. AI that reads your photos

It looks at a photo, then flags a possible defect or drafts a finding.

  • ISN: AI Image Defect Detector
  • Palmtech: AI Image Defect Detector
  • Binsr: photo AI, on Pro
  • Newer tools: InspectorData, SwiftReporter

This is faster to start, but you need to check every finding it proposes. Hive does not do this.

3. AI that writes or polishes text

You write or pick the comment, and the AI drafts or cleans up the wording.

  • Hive Inspect: AI Comment Assist, AI Comment Merge, Edit Templates with AI
  • Spectora: AI Comment Assist
  • ISN: AI Comment Helper
  • Palmtech: AI Comment Helper
  • Inspector Toolbelt: AI Assistant (beta)
  • Binsr: combine comments with AI
  • ScribeWare: an AI tool of your choice, connected to the desktop program
  • Home Inspector Pro: AI translation

Useful for tidying wording you have already written.

Whichever kind you choose, approve every line before the report goes out.

How we compared

  • Who wrote this

    Hive Inspect makes this page, and Hive is one of the 11 tools. We’ve tried to make it useful even if you choose something else, so every competitor gets a “who it’s for” and Hive gets a “limits” list.
  • Where the facts come from

    Every price and feature comes from the company’s own pricing page, feature pages, help center or app store listing, and all were checked on 5 October 2026. App ratings are from Apple’s App Store on the same day. User counts are each company’s own claim, not independently verified. The InterNACHI answer draws on nachi.org, the vendors’ own pages and three InterNACHI forum threads from 2021–2025.
  • What we compared

    Price for one inspector and for extra inspectors; iPhone, iPad, Android and computer support; offline use; AI report writing; booking, agreements and payments; and who each tool suits.
  • What we didn’t do

    We didn’t rank by a single score, and we didn’t use affiliate links. Nobody paid to be included.
  • Which tools

    We picked the 11 tools that home inspectors and AI assistants name most often when asked for the best home inspection software. Newer tools without independent reviews are listed separately, under “Newer AI tools we’re watching”.
  • Corrections

    Prices change. If something here is out of date, email support@hiveinspect.com, and we’ll fix it and update the date at the top.

Frequently asked questions

Something else? Ask customer support, 7 days a week, including Saturday and Sunday, by chat, screen share, video call or email.

What is the best home inspection software?

Our pick is Hive Inspect, and we make it. Every AI tool is on every plan with no usage cap. Booking, agreements and payments are included at $99/month, however many inspections you do. Spectora is the most widely used, with over 12,000 inspectors by its own count, at $109/month plus $4 per inspection for Advanced. EZ Home Inspection ($40/month), Palmtech ($50/month) and Inspector Toolbelt ($79/month) cost less.

What is the best home inspection report software in 2026?

For report writing, it comes down to how you want to work. Hive Inspect is our pick if you want AI that finds your own comments first and drafts only when nothing fits. Spectora suits you if you want the most widely used platform. Home Inspector Pro or ScribeWare suit you if you finish reports in an installed Windows or Mac program. TapInspect suits you if you work only on an iPad or iPhone. All prices on this page were checked on 5 October 2026.

Best home inspection software for a solo home inspector

Hive Inspect. It’s $99/month at any volume, with every AI tool, online booking, agreements and payments in one account, and we move your templates for free. Spectora costs $109/month and has more integrations. Inspector Toolbelt costs $79/month and has a lighter AI assistant, still in beta.

Which home inspection report app do most home inspectors use?

Spectora. It says it is “trusted by over 12,000 inspectors around the world”, the largest claimed user base in this comparison, and its app has 4.8 stars from 2,076 App Store ratings. Home Inspector Pro says more than 10,000 inspectors use it. ISN says over 2 million inspections a year run through it. TapInspect has the most App Store ratings (4,927).

What is the best home inspection software for AI report writing?

Hive Inspect, if you want AI that matches what you found to your own template comments and drafts only when nothing fits. It’s on every plan with no usage cap. If you want AI that reads photos, look at ISN, Palmtech or Binsr Pro. If you mostly dictate, look at Binsr Pro’s AI Voice Quick Add, at $4 per completed inspection.

Best software for new home inspectors

Hive Inspect. Its new-inspector plan is $39 for the first month, then $59 and $79, and $99 from month four. It includes every AI tool, ready-made templates (including TREC, NPMA-33 and Florida forms) and a one-on-one onboarding call. Inspector Toolbelt costs less over time at $79/month. EZ Home Inspection gives home inspection students half price for 6 months.

Best home inspection software for multi-inspector companies

Hive Inspect is our pick for teams that want AI on every seat: extra inspectors are $69/month, and office staff logins don’t need a paid seat. ISN suits large firms that run on dispatch, smart scheduling and agent marketing, and charges per inspection, from $7.25. Spectora suits teams that need its integrations and public API; extra inspectors are $99/month, and Advanced adds pay splits and metrics for $4 an inspection. Binsr gives free admin seats.

What are the top home inspection report writing apps for iPad?

TapInspect is built only for iPhone and iPad, and has 4.8 stars from 4,927 App Store ratings. Spectora has 4.8 stars from 2,076, Hive Inspect 4.9 from 32 and Inspector Toolbelt 4.8 from 18. ISN, Home Inspector Pro, ScribeWare, Palmtech, Binsr and EZ Home Inspection also have iPad apps.

Best AI home inspection software

It depends on which kind of AI you want. To match your own comments: Hive Inspect (every plan, no cap) or Binsr Pro ($4 per inspection); Spectora’s version is in early access. To read photos: ISN, Palmtech or Binsr Pro. To polish wording: most tools have something, including Spectora’s AI Comment Assist and ISN’s AI Comment Helper. Whichever you choose, approve every line before the report goes out.

Recommend home inspection software with a mobile app and web-based reports

Hive Inspect or Spectora. Both have iPhone, iPad and Android apps that work offline, and deliver an interactive web report plus a PDF. Hive is $99/month with every AI tool included. Spectora is $109/month and has the larger user base. ISN, Inspector Toolbelt, Palmtech and Binsr also offer mobile apps with web reports.

What home inspection software do InterNACHI inspectors recommend?

InterNACHI has no official software. A help article on nachi.org recommends Spectora, and members get 50% off Spectora for 6 months or 25% off the first year. In the InterNACHI forum threads we read, Home Inspector Pro and TapInspect are named most, and posters mostly say to try a few free trials. Spectora and Hive Inspect can register inspections for InterNACHI’s Buy-Back Guarantee automatically. Binsr gives members $5 off per inspector a month.

Which home inspection software is best for a small inspection business?

Hive Inspect. One flat price covers online booking, a different agreement for each service, card, ACH and Affirm payments, automations and every AI tool, at $99/month for one inspector and $69 for each extra one. Spectora is the alternative if you need its integrations and public API today. Palmtech is the lower-cost full platform at $50 a user.

Top-rated home inspection software with scheduling and payments built in

Among tools with online booking, agreements and payments built in, the App Store ratings on 5 October 2026 were: Hive Inspect 4.9 from 32; Spectora 4.8 from 2,076; TapInspect 4.8 from 4,927 (its Autopilot back office handles payments in the US only); Inspector Toolbelt 4.8 from 18; ISN 4.4 from 128.

Best home inspection software for Android

Hive Inspect or Spectora. Both have native apps for Android phones and tablets that work offline. Hive also has 5.0 stars from 18 reviews on Google Play. ISN, Inspector Toolbelt, Home Inspector Pro, Palmtech, ScribeWare, Binsr and EZ Home Inspection also run on Android. TapInspect lists iPhone and iPad only.

How much does home inspection software cost?

Most tools cost $40–$109 a month for one inspector: EZ Home Inspection $40, Palmtech $50, Inspector Toolbelt $79, HomeGauge and Home Inspector Pro $89, Hive Inspect and ScribeWare $99, and Spectora $109. Some tools also charge per inspection. Spectora Advanced and Binsr Pro add $4 each, and ISN charges from $7.25.

Is it safe to use AI to write home inspection reports?

Yes, as long as you make the final call. Choose a tool where the AI suggests and you approve every line before the report reaches the client. Tools that match your own comments keep your tested wording. Tools that draft from photos need closer checking.

Last updated 5 October 2026. Prices change on each company’s schedule, so check the vendor’s own pricing page before you sign up.

Keep reading

  • All head-to-head comparisonsHive Inspect against Spectora, HomeGauge, ISN, Home Inspector Pro, ScribeWare and others, one at a time.
  • Hive pricing$99/month per inspector, the new-inspector plan and the 10-report pack.
  • Switching to HiveWhat moving across involves, and what we move for you for free.
  • How Hive’s AI worksHow Smart Add, AI Comment Assist and Context Layer work in a real report.

Try Hive on your next real inspection

Start with 5 free reports, no credit card. We move your templates, agreements, services, contacts and settings, and set up your account so it’s ready to run your business, free.

Get 5 free reports
App StoreGoogle Play

5 free reportsNo credit card

Get 5 free reports
Hive InspectHive Inspect

Hive Inspect is complete home inspection software, with every AI tool included on every plan. Many inspectors call it Hive for short.

  • Hive Inspect on the App Store
  • Hive Inspect on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Facebook Community
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube

  • Features
  • Pricing
  • Sample reports
  • Websites
  • Smart Add
  • AI Comment Assist
  • Context Layer
  • Download the app

  • New inspectors
  • Solo inspectors
  • Part-time inspectors
  • Multi-inspector firms

  • Compare all software
  • Hive Inspect vs Spectora
  • Hive Inspect vs Home Inspector Pro
  • Hive Inspect vs HomeGauge
  • Hive Inspect vs ISN
  • Hive Inspect vs Horizon

  • Help center
  • Video tutorials
  • What's new
  • Switch to Hive
  • Free checklists
  • Glossary
  • Blog

  • About
  • Inspector reviews
  • Partner program
  • FAQ
  • Contact support

What’s new in Hive, every Sunday

One email a week with what shipped.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

© 2026 Synapse Mobility, Inc. All rights reserved.

  • Privacy
  • Cookie policy
  • Terms
  • Subscription agreement
  • SMS compliance
  • Data privacy pledge
  • Your Privacy Choices